About Me

Oh hai! 

My name is Thera and I like to party.  Okay, no, not really.  I currently haven't had an alcoholic beverage in almost a year.  I choose to spend most of my time at home since I'm an introvert.  I'm a really complicated individual. I'm a hair stylist by trade (been doing it 13 years) so I'm quite bubbly and friendly, but then there is the other side of me that is shy and reserved.  I often wonder how these two personalities coexist together. Typically, my introvert side wins.

Don't freak out, but my name is actually pronounced "Tera." I really love the spelling of my name, but everyone messes it up.  I get called Theresa, There and Therea quite often.  I often wonder if people mispronounce the name Thomas?  I mean, it's got an H after the T too.

I share my home with my boyfriend Pat and my kitty Kiki.  Well, actually she has a bunch of different names. Her real name is Salem.  We call her Kiki, Kiku or #@$%$#% Kitty. I lovingly describe our life together as, "The Adventures of TP."


I began sewing and crafting at the tender age of 7.  My mom and granny taught me all I know about sewing and crafting.  I grew up making my own hair scrunchies, simple clothing and holiday ornaments.  When I was in grade school I really didn't prefer wearing the duds my mom and granny made me since school kids fiercely picked on me for it.  Some days, I just wore the outfits and endured the ridiculing (it builds character.) 

In Junior High I did a lot of hand sewing as I didn't have my own sewing machine.  I would tweak thrift store clothing finds to better suite my taste, but for the most part, I didn't have time for sewing.

At age 23 I picked sewing up again, full fledged.  I got my very own machine and began making purses, pouches, clothing and home decor.  Actually, you name it, I made it.  Last year, I began taking Fashion Design classes at my local community college.  I learned a lot.  I plan on continuing on when I get enough money saved up to take another class.

I make EVERYTHING.  I'm obsessed with DIY.  I prefer receiving handmade gifts over store bought items. If something is old, I'll refurbish it so I don't have to buy something new.  I upcycle when I can as well.  This is probably the most valuable skill I possess.  I can't imagine not being able to fix something if it's broken, or make something I saw in a magazine.

Why I'm here:

I believe there is a real lack of personal blogs that focus on a Rock 'n' Roll themed life.  I hope to fill that void.  I plan to focus on bringing you Rock 'n' Roll inspired DIYs, fashion, and home decor.   I'd like to share my DIY secrets with you, and hopefully inspire you to bring a little Rock 'n' Roll to your life.


Other bits and bobs about me:

  • I adore cosplay.  I love nerdy/dorky things like clip in animal ears.  You'll find me wearing some here.
  • I'm Batman.  Okay, not really.  I do adore him though.  He's my favorite. 
  • ALIENS. FREAK. ME. OUT.  
  • Black is my favorite color.  Hot pink and neon green come in a close second.  
  • Zebra print makes me happy.  
  • I'm 32, going on 5.  I'm a kid at heart.  I don't want to grow up.  Don't mistake this for me being irresponsible.  That's not the case.  
  • Max California is my role model/mentor.  She's probably the most amazing DIYer I've ever had the pleasure of meeting. She and I decided to be craft wives quite a while ago.  We share a lot of the same tastes and she always gets me motivated when I'm in an inspiration funk. Her friendship is truly invaluable.
  • Pirates make me happy.  I dress up as one every Halloween.  
  • Eyeballs and skulls come in a close second.  I like to save up money before Halloween so I can buy new skull and eyeball decorations for my home.  It's my favorite time of year to shop. 
  • I walk to the beat of my own drum.  I don't like being told how to live my life.
  • I love writing tutorials
  • Music makes life go round.  It evokes memories and inspires.  I love music.  

      



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...